At the beginning of 2016 I had no voice.

I’d suffered a nasty cold in the preceding December and welcomed in the new year from my bed; ill, grumpy and sad. As a singer, there really is nothing worse.

That New Year’s Eve was a sad omen for the year to come, as I spent most of 2016 feeling like I had no voice. I have always been an advocate of positive attitudes and optimism as a way of life, but I struggled to see the bright side of 2016. Needless to say, it was an eventful year outside of my own little bubble, and I think most people felt the negativity surrounding the past 12 months.

Personally, I let 2016 get the better of me, I let the negativity envelope me and I checked out of the year by October. I blamed all my own idleness and slip-ups on a bad year, instead of facing up to the reality that I’ve grown complacent. I like to think I work hard, but I know I’ve got more to give and now is the time to start.

Now 2017 is here and I’m writing a New Year’s blog a week late. (Great start Charlotte!) But I won’t let 2017 get the better of me. I won’t demonise it and let it take the blame for my complacency and my failures. We are not defined by what goes on around us but by how we react and what we choose to focus on.

I want to spread more smiles this year. Whatever 2017 has to throw at us.

Happy New Year 🙂

9 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016

  1. Hi Charlotte,

    Just read your first blog of 2017. ‘Goodbye 2016’ – too right! It made me think, if you were feeling bad last year, what hope did the rest of us grumpy mortals have in making it through the doom and gloom(?) – but no, you were right, the negativity of the past 12 months weighed all of us down and even a creative artist has to confront what they see, then try to express that through their art, which is what you do.

    Will 2017 get any better? Will Donald Trump be struck by lightning? Probably not; but one’s thing for sure, you’ll have plenty happening to inspire and motivate you through these cold winter months. As I think I said to you last time on the Southbank, this is the time Ray Davies wrote and recorded ‘Waterloo Sunset’ 50 years ago. Adversity can bring out the best in people. Just don’t be too hard on yourself. I know how many people you touched with your music last year; I was one of those.

    Keep being the consistent optimist that you are. Works wonders!

    Best Wishes, Graham xx

    Like

    1. Hi Graham,

      Aw wow thanks so much! This is really encouraging and inspiring! I really want to be a positive force for 2017! I’ll sing lots of renditions of Waterloo Sunset throughout the year and try and make a few more people smile, including you Graham!

      Thank you 🙂
      Charlotte x

      Like

  2. You can give Larkin Poe credit for this. It came up on my Facebook feed not long after reading your post…..

    “Don’t plant your bad days. They grow into weeks. The weeks grow into months. Before you know it you got yourself a bad year. Take it from me. Choke those little bad days. Choke ’em down to nothin’. They’re your days. Choke ’em.” {Tom Waits}

    Not sure, but it seemed appropriate.

    Have a great 2017, and hopefully I’ll get another chance to hear you sing before it’s over.

    Like

  3. I imagine busking and creating songs has it’s highs & lows like most endeavors worth pursuing. Glad to say your music and happy persona gave me plenty of smiles in “16”. I can’t remember how I came across your YouTube spot lastyear but it was good luck. Coincidentally my brothet and wife moved from the states to Woking recently and got to see you performing twice so far. It’s in my plans to visit them within the next year and of course to see you in the flesh on the “Streets of London”. WARNING: I will be attempting to sing along HAHA

    Like

  4. I saw this on Larkin Poe’s Facebook feed today.

    “Don’t plant your bad days. They grow into weeks. The weeks grow into months. Before you know it you got yourself a bad year. Take it from me. Choke those little bad days. Choke ’em down to nothin’. They’re your days. Choke ’em.” {Tom Waits}

    Like

Leave a Reply

